You are here: Home / Articles / Automotive Law (page 3)

South Carolina Graduated License Law

Beginner’s Permit Age 15+ Requirements Birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency and insurance. Under 18, must bring your parent or legal guardian to sign application. Pass the vision and knowledge tests. Restrictions From 6 a.m. to midnight licensed driver at least 21 with at least 1 year driving experience in front seat. From midnight to 6 a.m., licensed ... Read More »

South Dakota Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 14+ Requirements Pass vision, knowledge, and driving test. Must hold the valid permit continuously for 180 days or 90 days with completion of approved Department of driver education course. Restrictions Licensed driver 18 or older with at least 1 year driving experience in seat next to permit holder. Restricted Minor’s Permit Age 14 + Requirements Pass vision, ... Read More »

New Mexico Graduated License Law

Permit Age 15+ You must be at least 15 years of age, enrolled in an approved driver education course approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau and including DWI education (Driver Ed in a Box® is a correspondence driver education course approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau) and pass the knowledge test and vision test. If you are under the age ... Read More »

New York Graduated License Law

Learner’s License Age 15+ Restrictions for all learner permit holders regardless of age. You May Not Drive: Unless accompanied licensed driver at least 18 years old. In DMV road test area On any street within a park in the five boroughs of New York City, or any bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority. ... Read More »

North Carolina Graduated License Law

Limited Learner Permit Age 15+ Requirements Must have completed approved driver education course and present a Driving Eligibility Certificate, a high school diploma or its equivalent. Must pass written, signs and vision tests. Restrictions All passengers restrained by seatbelt or child safety seat. Only driver and supervising driver allowed in front seat. First six months: May drive between 5 a.m. ... Read More »

North Dakota Graduated License Law

Permit Age 14+ Requirements Written &vision tests. Parent/Guardian signature. Restrictions Must be accompanied by licensed driver at least 18 with at least three years of driving experience. Only supervising driver and permit holder in front seat unless vehicle has only front seat, in which case supervising driver must be seated next to permit holder. Restricted to parent or legal guardian’s ... Read More »

Ohio Graduated License Law

Permit Age 15 1/2 Requirements Under 18 application must be co-signed by parent or legal guardian. Restrictions Must carry Red/White paper permit & photo ID when driving. Must have Ohio licensed driver at least 21 occupy the seat next to driver. All occupants must wear every safety belt component. Passengers limited to number of safety belts originally installed by vehicle ... Read More »

Oklahoma Graduated License Law

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE LAW FOR DRIVERS BETWEEN THE AGES 15 1/2 TO 17 YEARS The following chart shows the requirements for teenagers who COMPLETE a driver education course OR reside or are enrolled in a public school district or private school which does not offer driver education at any time during the school year and/or summer months. TESTS TAKEN BY ... Read More »

Nebraska Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15 May apply 60 days before 15th birthday. Requirements: Must pass written & vision test. Restrictions: Accompanied by licensed driver 21 or older. Provisional Operator’s Permit Age 16 – 17 May apply 60 days before 16th birthday. Expires on 18th birthday. May drive unsupervised from 6:00 a.m. to midnight. May drive unsupervised from midnight to 6:00 a.m. ... Read More »

Nevada Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15 1/2 May apply 60 days before 15th birthday. Requirements: Must present Proof of Name, Date of Birth and Social Security Number if a number has been issued for you. In addition, you must pass vision and written tests & have parent/guardian sign financial responsibility section on the application. Restrictions: You may drive only with a licensed ... Read More »