You are here: Home / Articles / Automotive Law / Graduated License Law by State

Graduated License Law by State

Feed Subscription<

Vermont Graduated License Law

Learner’s Permit Age 15+ Requirements Clear driving record for previous 2 years. Pass vision & knowledge tests. Parent/guardian signature under 18. Restrictions Accompanied in front seat next to driver by: Licensed & unimpaired parent/guardian. Licensed or certified driver education instructor. Licensed & unimpaired individual at least 25. Junior Operator License Age 16+ Requirements Hold Learner’s Permit minimum 1 year. Complete ... Read More »

Washington Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15+ Requirements Actively enrolled in driver education course OR at least 15 ½. Vision & knowledge test. Restrictions Accompanied in front seat next to driver by: Licensed driver w/ minimum 5 years driving experience in front seat beside driver. Knowledge test or proof of driver education. Intermediate License Age 16 – 17 Requirements Held Instruction Permit minimum ... Read More »

Washington D.C. Graduated License Law

Learner’s License Age 15+ Requirements Under 18, Parent/guardian approval. Knowledge & vision exams. Restrictions Accompanied in front seat next to driver by: Licensed driver 21 or over seated next to driver. Seatbelts required. Intermediate License Age 16 – 17 Requirements Held Learner’s Permit minimum 6 months. Certify minimum 40 hours supervised driving. Road test. No conviction of assessable offense. Restrictions ... Read More »

West Virginia Graduated License Law

Level I Instruction Permit Age 15 – 17 Requirements Knowledge test. Application signed by both parents, surviving parent, single parent having custody or legal guardian. Current school enrollment form. Restrictions Licensed driver 21 or over in front seat. May only drive between 5:00 am & 11:00 pm. Safety belts in accordance with state law. Zero alcohol tolerance Level II Intermediate ... Read More »

Wisconsin Graduated License Law

Temps-instruction Permit Age 15 1/2 + Requirements Must pass vision, knowledge test. Must be enrolled in behind-the-wheel driver education course.. Restrictions May only drive with adult sponsor. No alcohol. Must wear seat belt. Probationary License Age 16+ Requirements Have held Temps-instruction Permit minimum 6 months. 30 hours supervised driving experience. Have completed driver education course.Pass road test. No traffic tickets ... Read More »

Wyoming Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15 + Requirements Written test. Instruction Permit for Restricted License (at least 14) Restrictions Permit in immediate possession. Accompanied by driver at least 1 year & at least 18, fit & capable of exercising control over the vehicle & occupying seat beside the driver. Driver’s License Age 16+ Requirements Have held Instruction Permit minimum 10 days. Restricted ... Read More »

Virginia Graduated License Law

Learner’s Permit At least age 15 & 6 months Requirements Parent/Guardian consent under 18. Vision & knowledge tests. Restrictions Licensed driver alert & able to assist seated next to student. Must be 21 or older, or 18 or older if legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister. May not drive between midnight & 4 a.m. No more than ... Read More »

Tennessee Graduated License Law

Learner’s Permit Class PD Age 15+ Requirements Pass vision & knowledge test. Proof of school attendance. Parent/Legal guardian sign Affidavit of Financial Responsibility. Birth Certificate & Social Security. Restrictions Licensed driver 21 or older in front seat. Cannot drive between 10:00 p.m. & 6:00 a.m. Seatbelts or child restraint as required by law. Intermediate Restricted License Age 16 + Requirements ... Read More »

Utah Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15, 9 Months+ Requirements Enrolled in approved driver education course. Restrictions Allows student to drive with qualified instructor in a dual-control car. Practice Permit Age 15, 9 Months+ Requirements Enrolled in approved driver education course. Restrictions Valid for 90 days. Student may practice with parent or legal guardian in passenger seat next to student. No other passengers ... Read More »

Texas Graduated License Law

Permit Age 15+ Parent or legal guardian* must accompany the teen to the license office to sign a permission statement. Pass the vision, road sign and written tests. Show proof of completion of at least 1st 6 hours of driver education classroom. In addition, the minimum age of the person who must accompany any instruction permit holder during the operation ... Read More »