You are here: Home / Articles / Automotive Law (page 5)

Mississippi Graduated License Law

Permit Age 15 Must provide proof of graduation, enrollment in public, private or home school, GED, or other acceptable proof. Parent/guardian signature required. Intermediate License Age 15 ½ Must have held Permit for minimum 6 months.Must provide proof of graduation, enrollment in public, private or home school, GED, or other acceptable proof. Parent/guardian signature required. Driver’s License Age 16 Must ... Read More »

Missouri Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15 Parent or legal guardian must accompany the teen to the license office to sign a permission statement. Pass the vision, road sign and written tests. Instruction Permit may only be used when accompanied by a parent, grandparent, or legal guardian* (If the permit holder is 16 years or older, the person occupying the seat beside the ... Read More »

Montana Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 14 1/2 If you are enrolled in an approved driver education course, you may operate a motor vehicle during training while you are under the direct supervision of the driver education teacher. The instruction permit is only valid for the period you are enrolled in the course. Traffic Education Learner’s Permit Age 14 1/2 Issued at end ... Read More »

Kentucky Graduated Licence Law

STEP 1 – PERMIT TEST Manuals covering Kentucky rules for driving are available from your county’s Circuit Court Clerk’s office or the State Police. You must be 16 years of age to take the written knowledge test, and a vision test will also be administered. You will need your social security card, birth certificate, and for persons under 18, a ... Read More »

Louisiana Graduated License Law

Learner’s Permit Age 15 Must complete 30 hours classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel driving instruction – approved high school or commercial driver education course. Must pass visual examination, written and road sign tests. Authorized to drive with one licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21or sibling at least 18. Must maintain learner’s license for a minimum ... Read More »

Colorado Graduated License Law

Beginning July 1, 2005, regardless of when you got your license, if you are under 18 you cannot drive a vehicle carrying a passenger under 21 unless you have held your driver license for at least 6 months. And, you cannot drive a vehicle carrying more than one passenger under 21 unless you have held your driver license for at ... Read More »

Georgia Graduated License Law

TAADRA is a graduated driver’s license program for young drivers ages 15 to 18. It was established in Georgia by a collaborative effort of highway safety advocates, legislators, law enforcement officials, educators, businesses and media in the wake of a high number of fatal vehicle crashes involving young, inexperienced drivers. This act directly addresses the leading killer of our young ... Read More »

Illinois Graduated License Law

Effective January 1, 2004, the GDL law will change to reflect new passenger limitations for beginning teen drivers. For the first six months of a person’s license or until the driver is age 18, whichever occurs first, the number of passengers in a vehicle is limited to one person under the age of 20, unless the additional passenger(s) is a ... Read More »

Alaska Graduated License Law

PROVISIONAL LICENSING: AS 28.15.055 (1/1/99) & AS 28.15.057 (1/1/05) These laws changed what is required to obtain and keep a driver’s license. You must have held a valid instruction permit for a minimum of six (6) months before obtaining your provisional driver license. While practicing with your valid instruction permit, the adult with you must have been licensed for 1 ... Read More »

Arizona Graduated License Law

There is no reason teens can’t be good drivers. Teens tend to be high risk drivers because of limited experience, insufficient skills, poor judgement, and often unsafe behavior. The education and experience required by Graduated Driver Licensing is designed to reduce these risks and to create a solid foundation for a lifetime of safe driving habits. Over half of the ... Read More »