You are here: Home / Articles / Automotive Law

Hands off that phone

New law No. 1: Today is the last day that you can drive around with a cell phone in one hand and your steering wheel in the other. If you haven’t already purchased your bit of hands-free technology, you better pencil in that trip to the wireless store today. A law enforcement officer can pull you over just for this ... Read More »

Lights, Camera, Ticket! Drivers Divided On Red-Light Recordings

New intersection camera technology, combined with buried magnetic induction loops under the road, make it possible for the camera to record if your vehicle came to a full stop, or simply slowed as you were turning. While there is no set amount of time that you are required to wait before you proceed, if you roll through a red light and do not make a complete stop, the cameras will get you. Read More »

DUI/DWI Laws As Of November 2005

All 50 states and the District of Columbia have per se laws defining it as a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above a proscribed level, 0.08 percent. Read More »

Court to Notify Californians – Who Bought, Owned or Leased 1991-2001 Model Year Ford Explorers – About Their Rights in a Class Action Lawsuit

A statewide notice program authorized by California's Sacramento County Superior Court began today, to issue notices to those who bought, owned or leased 1991-2001 model year Ford Explorers. The notices are a result of the Court establishing or "certifying," in February 2005, a class action lawsuit against Ford Motor Company, about whether Ford concealed a design flaw that increased rollover risk and lowered Explorer values. Read More »

West Virginia Graduated License Law

Level I Instruction Permit Age 15 – 17 Requirements Knowledge test. Application signed by both parents, surviving parent, single parent having custody or legal guardian. Current school enrollment form. Restrictions Licensed driver 21 or over in front seat. May only drive between 5:00 am & 11:00 pm. Safety belts in accordance with state law. Zero alcohol tolerance Level II Intermediate ... Read More »

Wisconsin Graduated License Law

Temps-instruction Permit Age 15 1/2 + Requirements Must pass vision, knowledge test. Must be enrolled in behind-the-wheel driver education course.. Restrictions May only drive with adult sponsor. No alcohol. Must wear seat belt. Probationary License Age 16+ Requirements Have held Temps-instruction Permit minimum 6 months. 30 hours supervised driving experience. Have completed driver education course.Pass road test. No traffic tickets ... Read More »

Wyoming Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit Age 15 + Requirements Written test. Instruction Permit for Restricted License (at least 14) Restrictions Permit in immediate possession. Accompanied by driver at least 1 year & at least 18, fit & capable of exercising control over the vehicle & occupying seat beside the driver. Driver’s License Age 16+ Requirements Have held Instruction Permit minimum 10 days. Restricted ... Read More »