You are here: Home / Articles / Automotive Law / Graduated License Law by State / Washington Graduated License Law

Washington Graduated License Law

Instruction Permit

Age 15+


  • Actively enrolled in driver education course OR at least 15 ½.
  • Vision & knowledge test.


Accompanied in front seat next to driver by:

  • Licensed driver w/ minimum 5 years driving experience in front seat beside driver.
  • Knowledge test or proof of driver education.

Intermediate License

Age 16 - 17


  • Held Instruction Permit minimum 6 months.
  • Completed minimum 50 hours supervised driving practice - including 10 hours at night.
  • Traffic safety education course.
  • No traffic violations within 6 months of applying for the license, and no alcohol or drug offense while holding an instruction permit.


  • May not drive between 1:00 a.m. & 5:00 a.m. unless supervised by licensed driver 25 or older. Driving for agricultural purposes is an exception. Restriction removed after 1 year no collisions or traffic citations.
  • First 6 Months - No passengers under 20 unless members of immediate family.
  • After First 6 Months - No more than 3 passengers under 20. Restriction removed after 1 year no collisions or traffic citations.
  • At 18 Intermediate Driver License automatically becomes regular license

Driver’s License

Age 18+

No driver education requirement if licensed at age 18.


Vision, knowledge & driving test.